Home » Uncategorized » about me

about me

Hello,

Welcome to my blog. My name is Sarah Prechtl. I love Jesus (we are currently planting a church in Steamboat Springs, CO), a proud wife to an amazing man, mom to 3 awesome blessings, and in my free time I like to research and learn more about health and clean living. I do not post daily but I try to post whenever I discover something new and exciting! Everything is under a category. I don’t do the typical “blog” layout since I don’t post everyday.

All of my recipes for homemade products will be under one of the Pages above. Example: Toothpaste recipe is under Body & Hygiene.

Please always feel free to contact me (contact form below) and ask me any questions! Thanks and enjoy!

You can follow me on twitter or instagram under my name sarahprechtl

Why Essentially Easy?

Well, I didn’t really set out to be a “blogger”. After people began asking for recipes and how to make things I thought this would be easiest rather than emailing constantly. I am always looking for easy ways to make essential products.

How I became “one of those” women who make products themselves…

In the beginning of 2012, my brother at 26 yrs. old, was diagnosed with Stage 4 Melanoma cancer (for the second time). It was all over his lungs and an inch and a half tumor in his spine. My mother has had 3 Stage 1 moles removed, my grandmother died from Melanoma, and my Aunt had Stage 1 mole removed. Obviously, our family is susceptible to it. After a miracle of getting on a trial drug (PD1) and Jesus miraculously working in my brother, in 12 weeks he was cancer FREE!

I mention this because…it really kickstarted my inquiry with finding natural remedies for skin care and reading everything on a food label. I became VERY aware of what we were putting on and in our bodies. As I started looking at things that contributed to skin cancer (its shocking how pretty much majority of ingredients out there does), it lead me to start experimenting in making a lot of our own products and searching for natural products.

That being said, I am not crazy strict and not every single thing in our house is pure (however pretty close). In fact, I still buy some things I just don’t feel like making (dish soap, laundry soap). I just try to eliminate what I can. The FDA approves small amounts of all the ‘junk’ in products, then you accumulate those products throughout the day, by the end of the day, you have well exceeded what was “safe” for ONE item and have then overloaded your system with a whole bunch of nastiness. So, if I cut out what I have the ability to (deodorant, toothpaste, lotion, sunscreen, food at home, etc…), then when we do get elsewhere, it really is just a small amount. (check out my research page for links and more info)

I am VERY busy as I am sure many of you are. I homeschool, heavily involved with the church, mom, wife, friend and the list goes on… I don’t plan on writing everyday but as I find new recipes or cool tips I will post. I don’t have a lot of extra time and so essentially I just want to have a place where you can get easy tips for everyday life.

I would love to hear tips and ideas that you may have as well!

Thanks and Enjoy!

Sarah

DISCLAIMER:

I am not a doctor, nutritionist or medical professional in ANY way. I am simply sharing what has worked for my family and my opinions. Nothing mentioned in this site is intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.  If you have any health condition or concern, please contact your physician or health care provider.  You should always consult with a physician or health care provider prior to changing your diet, exercise program, using any new product or supplement, stopping the use of any product or supplement.  You are responsible for your own research of scientific and nutritional facts prior to doing anything mentioned on this website or on this blog. Everyone is different and just because something works for me doesn’t mean it will for you. YOU are held responsible for the effects of anything that you might choose to do as the result of something that you may have read on this website or on this blog.

This Site may provide links to third-party web sites. This Site is not responsible for the content of linked third-party sites, sites framed within the Site, third-party sites provided as search results, or third-party advertisements, and does not make any representations regarding their content or accuracy. Your use of third-party websites is at your own risk and subject to the terms and conditions of use for such sites.

I am not here to endorse or discredit companies, just share the results and opinions I have from my experiences. I reserve the right to delete any comments that are rude, disrespectful or spam.

The statements on this site have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.

Leave a Reply

