Home » Essential Oils » toothpaste

toothpaste

This was one of those things that, while researching essential oils, I came across and was surprised to find out how bad most toothpastes are for you. If your kids are like mine, those flavored toothpastes from the store become like a tube a candy to them. Especially my youngest, who loves to quirt it in his mouth when I am not watching.

Well, as I started to read on toothpaste I discovered some more amazing facts about how God created our body. Did you know our body has the ability to naturally remineralize? This means it actually has the ability to repair its own cavities in SOME situations.  Here is a great article on toothpaste that I encourage you to read, Rethinking Oral Care.

I have combined ingredients from a few different recipes I have found online and it is amazing! Not only does your mouth feel cleaner than ever before, its cheaper and its safe for your kids. My kids love the taste! I have noticed my teeth are cleaner longer and my gums are not sensitive like they used to be. We used to buy Sensodyne and this works so much better!

A recent news article in the benefits of coconut oil for toothpaste. Must read!
Coconut Oil Hailed as Miracle Dental Breakthrough

Top 10 Dangers of Flouride

Check out my mouthwash too!

// Toothpaste

3 tablespoons baking soda

1/2 tablespoon sea salt (optional-sometimes I add sometimes I don’t)

estimated around 3-6 tablespoon xylitol  (For me, the best alternative sweetener I have tasted. NO after taste and it prevents tooth decay) I make mine sweeter for the kids. You really can’t put too much in since it is used to prevent tooth decay. Taste test as you make it to check and make sure it is sweet enough and covers the baking soda taste.

20-60 drops mixture of peppermint oil & spearmint oil or any flavor you choose (I add a little at a time and taste test) I have done Peppermint and Sweet Orange also and the kids really like it.

Coconut Oil to consistency desired (Mine ends up being a paste type texture)

This recipe is one that is specific to individuals taste, especially when using for kids. I always taste test as I go. I have had a few people make it and realize it wasn’t sweet enough. Just add more Xylitol

:: I blend the xylitol and salt in the blender together until fine and then mix in a bowl with the baking soda. I then add the coconut oil, mixing to desired consistency. Last I add the essential oil to taste.

I used a mix of Spearmint and Peppermint. I put around 60 drops. Hard to tell exactly and so really you need to taste test it as you go. I like mine to have a strong flavor so the aftertaste lingers.

I used a mix of Spearmint and Peppermint. I put around 60 drops. Hard to tell exactly and so really you need to taste test it as you go. I like mine to have a strong flavor so the aftertaste lingers.

I bought these glass jars from Hobby Lobby. I keep mine in my drawer. If you are going to keep on counter and there are any windows, its best to use dark glass. Make sure it is food safe.

I bought these glass jars from Hobby Lobby. I keep mine in my drawer. If you are going to keep on counter and there are any windows, its best to use dark glass. Make sure it is food safe.

Few things to remember:

It will NOT foam. This is weird at first since most of us have been accustomed to toothpaste foaming. Your mouth will create a lot of saliva. TIP: I keep my mouth closed and then swish like mouthwash. The toothpaste is able to cover inside of mouth and cover tongue and hard to reach areas. This is where the coconut oil is really beneficial.

Wash toothbrush in warm water. The coconut oil can get caked on your toothbrush if you don’t.

If it is warm in your house it may melt and separate. Essential oils should not be kept in warm places to remain effective. I keep mine in the drawer in my bathroom that never gets above 74 degrees. If it does melt, mix well.

Baking soda should not be used if you have been diagnosed with cancer. Like salt and sugar, baking soda can feed cancer cells and should be avoided if cancer is present. It is safe for healthy individuals.

Leave a Reply

