Home » Body Products » coconut oil deodorant

coconut oil deodorant

This was the very first thing I researched and made. We have been using it since early 2012 and it has been “put to the test” in many different situations:)

My husband is 6’3″ and very active. He is athletic and we live in KS where summer temperatures are hot and humid. This deodorant is NOT an antiperspirant (those are full of toxins for your body) but it does eliminate any smell. I have EXTREMELY sensitive skin and this is the first time I haven’t reacted to a deodorant. There are some truly all natural great deodorants out there but you also pay for it. This is cheap and effective!

// Coconut Oil Deodorant

1/4 cup baking soda

1/4 cup cornstarch (if you are allergic to corn or skin sensitive to cornstarch use Arrowroot Starch instead)

4-6 tablespoons of coconut oil (I buy the 54oz Carrington Farms from Costco for $17)

Essential Oil Optional (I don’t use them because I like the light scent of coconut oil)

:: Mix all ingredients together to make a soft paste and put in containers. I use small tupperware containers (BPA free). To use just dip finger in and grab a small amount, rubbing under your armpit. When Storing remember that Coconut Oil will start to melt in warmer temps. I keep mine out of the sunlight and our house doesn’t get hotter than 71 degrees year round. If it does start to melt or you live in hotter conditions I would recommend storing in the fridge.

Here are some articles on what is in deodorant and why you should go natural in my opinion.

Ingredients to Avoid in Deodorant 

Natural Deodorant

One thought on “coconut oil deodorant

  1. Pingback: DIY Deodorant – Leave the Chemicals to the CHEMISTS! | Om girls Guide

Leave a Reply

